Ways of Seeing and Being

“What is art but a way of seeing?” ~ Saul Bellow

March 15, 2024

Dear Families and Friends,

On their culminating day of art making with Leaps, South School’s fourth and fifth graders reflected on their connections with nature, and put themselves (figuratively) right in the middle of it. Kids focused on getting their features in print by slowly outlining their photograph with a pencil. The ink on the plate below came through in a traced monotype.

Surrounded by images of nature, made from an earlier print, each self-portrait revealed something special about the individual. “I’m a lot better now because I am focused.” one child remarked, looking at her artwork.

Here are several more of the children’s written comments, which reveal what their Leaps’ experience meant to young artists.

I think art is important for kids because: “It lets kids show their creativity.” “You can be an artist.” “It is important to focus.” “Art expresses your feelings and helps relieve stress.” “They get educated and tell others.” “It helps their minds grow.” “It helps them discover who they are.”

The biggest change I saw in myself as an artist is: ” I did better. Going slow and going out of my comfort zone.” “I could draw things I never knew I could draw.” “I know more techniques.” “To appreciate the details.” “The more I practice, the better I get.” “I’m learning about nature.” “I’ve been taking time and been more patient.”

I think connecting to nature is important for kids because: “Screens are bad for your eyes.” “I like fresh air.” “They might not like nature and destroy it.” “Kids are then inspired to like nature.” “They can find cool stuff outside.”It helps me when I have eczema.” “It lets them get fresh air and see how beautiful nature is.”

I am enormously grateful to our team of teaching artists, Susan Beebe, Dee Peppe, Alexis Iammarino, Vero Poblete, Jocelyn Paquette, and Willoughby Hastings, for their heartfelt commitment to Leaps of Imagination, and for the quality of relationships they build with children. Their generosity of spirit and energy that came through in every one of our 12 sessions (Wheeler Bay to in-class art exploration) impacted fourth and fifth graders in remarkable ways.

A big thank you to the following foundations for their continuing support, Daniel Dietrich ll Foundation, Maine Arts Commission, Maine Community Foundation, Nellie Lehman Taft Foundation (Ignite,) and Onion Foundation.

With much appreciation to the South School community, Hillary Arroyo, Principal, and all of its staff members, Nancy Harris Frohlich, for the Team

Ignite Philanthropy
Maine Community Foundation Logo
Onion Foundation
optional logo

3 thoughts on “Ways of Seeing and Being

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.